Finale Forum Store | Buy Sheet Music

Forced tie break

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: miker, Peter Thomsen

Forced tie break

Postby Slavicek » Sun Jan 13, 2019 1:16 am

A tie can be broken because of time signature or barline. In my case, I wanted to break it because of time signature, but as time signature is "originally" positioned down in the staff level, and as I have displaced mine above the staff using Document Options, the tie cannot be broken now. I used Special Tools to try to edit the tie bow, setting the break by default, on, or off, but nothing seems to work. Are there any tips & tricks how to force-break the tie so that there is no collision with the time signature on top?

I enclose the screen shot; the problematic tie is the highest one that is going over 8/4 time signature.
Thank you in advance.
Attachments
tie.JPG
tie.JPG (35.47 KiB) Viewed 163 times
Slavicek
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 3:39 pm
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Finale Version: 2014
Operating System: Windows

Re: Forced tie break

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

Re: Forced tie break

Postby Peter Thomsen » Sun Jan 13, 2019 6:45 pm

You can do it with a workaround:

Use a separate staff for the time signatures.
This “time signature staff” is positioned 24pt above the Grand Staff, and it displays only time signatures (= de-select the display of Clefs, Key Signatures, Repeat Bars &c., but keep the display of Stems).

In the “time signature staff”, move the barlines vertically down into the Grand Staff.
In that way you will get rid of all barlines in the “time signature staff”.

Do not enter the “broken” tie in the Grand Staff.
Instead, enter two notes in the “time signature staff”, and tie them together.

The tie will be broken because it crosses a time signature “positioned down in the staff level” (your own words).

The attached example was done in Finale.
Attachments
Breaking a tie.gif
Breaking a tie.gif (4.71 KiB) Viewed 128 times
Finale v26, Mac OS X 10.13.6 (High Sierra), Finale user since 1996
User avatar
Peter Thomsen
 
Posts: 6113
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Danmark
Finale Version: Finale v26
Operating System: Mac

Re: Forced tie break

Postby HaraldS » Sun Jan 13, 2019 8:19 pm

Another workaround: use a tuplet definition.

You would set up a tuplet in the first bar (e.g. a 3:2 quarter tuplet) with a slur instead of a bracket and the whole "3:2" proportion shown. It must be above the staff and be horizontally dragabble.

The tuplet's slur will get broken by the width of the proportion, and that's the thing to exploit. You would have to move the proportion off page to have it not printed.
Attachments
BrokenTieExample.png
BrokenTieExample.png (64.45 KiB) Viewed 114 times
Finale 3.0-25.5, german edition, Windows 7
mostly hardware synths/keys, Cubase 7 / trombonist, pianist, conductor / Recklinghausen, Germany
User avatar
HaraldS
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 11:46 am
Location: Recklinghausen, Germany
Finale Version: 25.5
Operating System: Windows

Re: Forced tie break

Postby Slavicek » Tue Jan 15, 2019 2:12 pm

Peter and Harald - thank you both for the workaround suggestions, I tried them out and it seems fine in the end. Another workaround came to my mind, too; to hide the time signature and instead to create one in Expression Tool. That won't break the slur, but at least one can move it elsewhere to avoid it (which wouldn't be possible in Document Options, as the time signature placement there applies to all the signatures in the score).

Cheers
Slavicek
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 3:39 pm
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Finale Version: 2014
Operating System: Windows

Re: Forced tie break

Postby Bill Stevens » Tue Jan 15, 2019 3:14 pm

Slavicek,

You say an expression won't break the slur (I think you meant tie) but if you put an opaque enclosure around the expression it will cover a tie, though not a slur.

Bill Stevens
Finale user since the beginning.
Bill Stevens
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 1:37 pm
Location: North Carolina
Finale Version: 26
Operating System: Mac

Re: Forced tie break

Postby Slavicek » Thu Jan 17, 2019 8:33 am

Bill, yes, I meant tie. And you're right, the enclosure works, too.

Thank you all for help
Slavicek
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 3:39 pm
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Finale Version: 2014
Operating System: Windows



Similar topics


Return to General Finale Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 14 guests


Music Engravers and Music Copyists
   Finale - Sibelius - Cakewalk - Archives - Finale Books - Contact


Copyright © 1994 - 2019 by C.M. Press, LLC