Finale V26 doesn't play all parts

Discuss playback problems, including VST, Garritan, MIDI, etc.

Moderators: miker, Peter Thomsen

bzoeller
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2019 11:21 pm
Finale Version: V26
Operating System: Windows

Finale V26 doesn't play all parts

Post by bzoeller » Sat May 25, 2019 9:59 pm

Hello,

I'm having issues with the playback in a full orchestra score. I have about 18 different parts, but Finale struggles to play the last two which are Cello and the Bass section. Is the playback numbered to a specific limit of parts that can be played or am I doing something wrong?

I run Finale v26 on a Windows.
Thanks in advance.

Benedikt

Re: Finale V26 doesn't play all parts

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

User avatar
zuill
Posts: 2802
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:35 pm
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v26.2
Operating System: Windows

Re: Finale V26 doesn't play all parts

Post by zuill » Sat May 25, 2019 11:36 pm

There are 16 channels in a Bank. So, with 18 parts, 2 would be on a second Bank. Are you using MIDI or VST?

Zuill
Windows 7, Finale 2011-v26.2
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."

bzoeller
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2019 11:21 pm
Finale Version: V26
Operating System: Windows

Re: Finale V26 doesn't play all parts

Post by bzoeller » Sun May 26, 2019 12:05 am

Hi Zuill, thanks for the reply.

Could you explain me the difference?

I am using the files from guitarrian. I didn't change any of the default settings. well I tried, but without results jaja. But now all is back to default.

Regards
Benedikt

User avatar
zuill
Posts: 2802
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:35 pm
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v26.2
Operating System: Windows

Re: Finale V26 doesn't play all parts

Post by zuill » Sun May 26, 2019 1:11 am

In the MIDI/Audio menu, which is checked: Play Finale through VST or Play Finale through MIDI? In the Score Manager, Look at the 18 staves and see what the settings are for the Channels. Are the columns Prg. and Ch. or Bank and Ch.? Also, in the MIDI Setup window, are all the Bank slots filled for the SoftSynth? Slot 1 is Channels 1-16, slot 2 is 17-32, etc. If you're using MIDI and these aren't assigned, that could result in no sound for anything above channel 16. If using VST, then are all the banks set to a usable volume. Default is 70, but that is often too soft. Also, are the 2 silent staves assigned to any sounds at all?

Zuill
Windows 7, Finale 2011-v26.2
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."

bzoeller
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2019 11:21 pm
Finale Version: V26
Operating System: Windows

Re: Finale V26 doesn't play all parts

Post by bzoeller » Sun May 26, 2019 8:33 pm

Solved it.

The volume of the second VST Bank was set to 0.

Thanks for the quick help :)

Post Reply