change rests

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: miker, Peter Thomsen

Post Reply
Jetcopy
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2017 8:40 pm
Finale Version: Finale 2012, 2014
Operating System: Mac

change rests

Post by Jetcopy » Thu Aug 15, 2019 2:34 pm

I've got a piece in 6/8, which is filled with a quarter rest then an eighth rest. I'd like to change them all to a dotted quarter. I thought there was a plugin that did this, but I can't seem to find it. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

JT

Re: change rests

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

User avatar
michelp
Posts: 1553
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 3:35 pm
Finale Version: 25.5, 2014.5
Operating System: Mac

Re: change rests

Post by michelp » Thu Aug 15, 2019 2:58 pm

First, make sure your time signature is 6/8 defined as 2 dotted quarter notes.
Then, Midi/Audio menu - > Quantization Settings -> More Settings -> Allow Dotted Rests in Compound Meters.
Then, select the region, and apply Retranscribe (Midi/Audio menu).
Michel
MacOsX 10.11.6, Finale 25.5, 2014.5, Mac Mini Intel Dual Core i7 3Ghz, 16 Go Ram. Azerty kb. Full TGTools. MOTU Midi Express XT USB, Roland Sound Canvas SC-88vl, MOTU Audio Express. 2 monitors (27' pivot, 24')

User avatar
zuill
Posts: 2796
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:35 pm
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v26.2
Operating System: Windows

Re: change rests

Post by zuill » Thu Aug 15, 2019 3:43 pm

That's what I thought, but I couldn't get the dotted rests doing that.

I used Jari's JW Meter and Rhythm plugin, in the Rhythm Transformation/Rests page.

Zuill
Windows 7, Finale 2011-v26.2
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."

User avatar
Peter Thomsen
Posts: 5663
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 6:47 pm
Finale Version: Finale v26.2.1
Operating System: Mac

Re: change rests

Post by Peter Thomsen » Thu Aug 15, 2019 5:47 pm

Jetcopy wrote:I've got a piece in 6/8, which is filled with a quarter rest then an eighth rest. I'd like to change them all to a dotted quarter …
The sum of {1/4 rest + 1/8 rest} is only 3/8.
If the time signature is 6/8, then there must be more entries in the measure.
You probably mean that the measure is filled, and it ends with a quarter rest + an eighth rest (and the measure probably begins with a dotted quarter note) - right?
michelp wrote:First, make sure your time signature is 6/8 defined as 2 dotted quarter notes.
Then, Midi/Audio menu - > Quantization Settings -> More Settings -> Allow Dotted Rests in Compound Meters.
Then, select the region, and apply Retranscribe (Midi/Audio menu).
Instead of the last step I used
Utilities menu > Rebar > Rebar Music
It worked for me; I got the dotted rests.
Mac OS X 10.14 (Mojave), Finale user since 1996

User avatar
zuill
Posts: 2796
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:35 pm
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v26.2
Operating System: Windows

Re: change rests

Post by zuill » Thu Aug 15, 2019 5:54 pm

I was testing with quarter rest eighth rest quarter rest eighth rest. Retranscribe left it untouched. Rebar changed it into a default whole rest. However, if there was a dotted quarter on either side of the measure, rebar or retranscribe combined the quarter rest eighth rest into a dotted quarter rest.

Zuill
Windows 7, Finale 2011-v26.2
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."

Jetcopy
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2017 8:40 pm
Finale Version: Finale 2012, 2014
Operating System: Mac

Re: change rests

Post by Jetcopy » Thu Aug 15, 2019 6:52 pm

Thank you all for replying. Nothing worked as I had hoped.

Retranscribe correctly combined the rests into a single dotted quarter rest, but it also deleted any articulations that were attached to the notes.

Rebar music also combined them correctly, but interfered entries in other layers. I had the same problem with Jari's plugin.

I think the safest thing for me to do is to eyeball each occurence and change them manually with a macro.

Thank you all for your help.

Jeff

User avatar
zuill
Posts: 2796
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:35 pm
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v26.2
Operating System: Windows

Re: change rests

Post by zuill » Thu Aug 15, 2019 6:57 pm

Did you use the filter in Jari's plugin? You can affect just 1 layer if needed.

Zuill

P.S.: Forget that. No filter. Instead, use Show Active Layer Only in the Document Menu.
Windows 7, Finale 2011-v26.2
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."

Jetcopy
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2017 8:40 pm
Finale Version: Finale 2012, 2014
Operating System: Mac

Re: change rests

Post by Jetcopy » Thu Aug 15, 2019 8:37 pm

Zuill,

Show active layer worked, but in addition to consolidating the dotted quarter rests, it was changing some other rhythms that I didn't want changed.

This is one of those things that I might spend an hour searching for the perfect shortcut, and if I had just started manually changing them, it would be done by now. That's what I did, took 20 minutes total but at least I know I didn't change anything else by accident.

Thanks for your help.

User avatar
HaraldS
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 11:46 am
Finale Version: 25.5
Operating System: Windows

Re: change rests

Post by HaraldS » Thu Aug 15, 2019 9:09 pm

Jetcopy wrote:Nothing worked as I had hoped. [...]I think the safest thing for me to do is to eyeball each occurence and change them manually with a macro.
Not necessary; this JWLua code searches for occurences of a quarter rest followed by an eighth rest, replaces the quarter rest with a dotted one and removes the eighth rest:

Code: Select all

for m, s in eachcell(finenv.Region()) do
   local noteentrycell = finale.FCNoteEntryCell(m, s)
   noteentrycell:Load()
   for e in eachbackwards(noteentrycell) do
        local f = e:Next()
        if f and e:IsRest() and e.Duration == finale.QUARTER_NOTE 
             and f:IsRest() and f.Duration == finale.EIGHTH_NOTE then
                    e.Duration = finale.QUARTER_NOTE  + finale.EIGHTH_NOTE
                    f.Duration = 0
        end
    noteentrycell:DeleteAllNullEntries()
   end
end
Finale 3.0-25.5, German edition, Windows 7
mostly hardware synths/keys, Cubase 7 / trombonist, pianist, conductor / Recklinghausen, Germany

User avatar
michelp
Posts: 1553
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 3:35 pm
Finale Version: 25.5, 2014.5
Operating System: Mac

Re: change rests

Post by michelp » Thu Aug 15, 2019 10:33 pm

Great script, thank you, Harald.
Michel
MacOsX 10.11.6, Finale 25.5, 2014.5, Mac Mini Intel Dual Core i7 3Ghz, 16 Go Ram. Azerty kb. Full TGTools. MOTU Midi Express XT USB, Roland Sound Canvas SC-88vl, MOTU Audio Express. 2 monitors (27' pivot, 24')

Post Reply