Artificial Harmonics

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: miker, Peter Thomsen

markbergman
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2019 11:35 pm
Finale Version: 26
Operating System: Mac

Artificial Harmonics

Post by markbergman » Thu Sep 12, 2019 11:38 pm

I am writing a string piece that uses a lot of false or artificial harmonics. Is there a shortcut to changing noteheads? I need to indicate the note that is fingered (with a conventional black note) AND the note to be played with a harmonic (with a white diamond) on each string but changing each note manually is a pain in the proverbial buttocks. Suggestions welcome!

Re: Artificial Harmonics

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

User avatar
miker
Posts: 4430
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 4:28 pm
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Mac

Re: Artificial Harmonics

Post by miker » Thu Sep 12, 2019 11:46 pm

Yes. JW Change > Noteheads > Shape > Hollow diamond

You can specify the "top note," and one click does them all. (I know nothing of harmonics, so I chose the intervals at random!)
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-09-12 at 4.46.06 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-09-12 at 4.46.06 PM.png (135.57 KiB) Viewed 69 times
Finale 26 | SmartScorePro X2
Mac OS 10.13 High Sierra
Copyist for Barbershop Harmony Society

User avatar
Michel R E
Posts: 355
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:16 pm
Finale Version: Finale 2012, 25, 26
Operating System: Windows

Re: Artificial Harmonics

Post by Michel R E » Thu Sep 12, 2019 11:52 pm

use the TGTools plugin for harmonics, if they are only 4th and 5th harmonics.
if you need anything else then use the JWChange plugin as Miker mentioned.
User of Finale since version 3.0 on Windows.
Now using a mix of Finale 2012, Finale 25, and 26.1
GPO, Garritan Solo Stradivari violin, Gofriller Solo Cello.
XSamples Chamber Ensemble.
New convert to NotePerformer3.

Nick Mazuk
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2018 12:29 am
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Mac

Re: Artificial Harmonics

Post by Nick Mazuk » Fri Sep 13, 2019 12:22 am

If you're familiar with JW Lua, I modified one of Jari's scripts to change all possible harmonics in a given region. By default, it also only checks for valid harmonics.

https://nickmazuk.com/Resources/JWLua#stringharmonics

Just install as you would any other JW Lua Script, highlight the entire music region with harmonics, and run!
Nick

Post Reply