HP and fermatas

Discuss playback problems, including VST, Garritan, MIDI, etc.

Moderators: miker, Peter Thomsen

User avatar
miker
Posts: 4411
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 4:28 pm
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Mac

HP and fermatas

Post by miker » Thu Oct 10, 2019 4:20 pm

I’m still dealing with the dropped notes issue I posted about, earlier. One suggestion was to turn HP off. I know that if I do this, fermatas are ignored. Are there other things that HP recognizes, that turning it off will impact?
Finale 26 | SmartScorePro X2
Mac OS 10.13 High Sierra
Copyist for Barbershop Harmony Society

Re: HP and fermatas

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

User avatar
michelp
Posts: 1547
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 3:35 pm
Finale Version: 25.5, 2014.5
Operating System: Mac

Re: HP and fermatas

Post by michelp » Thu Oct 10, 2019 4:40 pm

Hairpins are one of them.
Now, about fermatas, if you turn off HP and you still want to hear them, you can enter an invisible tempo alteration (placed anywhere in the measure) that will slow down the tempo and produce a very similar effect. A second tempo alteration or mark can bring the original tempo back.
Michel
MacOsX 10.11.6, Finale 25.5, 2014.5, Mac Mini Intel Dual Core i7 3Ghz, 16 Go Ram. Azerty kb. Full TGTools. MOTU Midi Express XT USB, Roland Sound Canvas SC-88vl, MOTU Audio Express. 2 monitors (27' pivot, 24')

User avatar
miker
Posts: 4411
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 4:28 pm
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Mac

Re: HP and fermatas

Post by miker » Thu Oct 10, 2019 5:26 pm

Thanks for that, michelp. Since these are for learning tracks, the cresc. and decresc. are less important. So the tempo alteration might be all I need.
Finale 26 | SmartScorePro X2
Mac OS 10.13 High Sierra
Copyist for Barbershop Harmony Society

oldmkvi
Posts: 164
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 6:13 pm
Finale Version: 25
Operating System: Mac

Re: HP and fermatas

Post by oldmkvi » Thu Oct 10, 2019 5:52 pm

Is there a way to apply the Line-Dot Articulation and hide them?
Or don't hide them, if they are just for practice.
What sound are you using, oohs and ahs?
Maybe Piano would work, for practice.

User avatar
zuill
Posts: 2726
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:35 pm
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v26.1
Operating System: Windows

Re: HP and fermatas

Post by zuill » Thu Oct 10, 2019 11:22 pm

Instead of turning HP off, customize HP to still include it. If you don't need anything else, turn everything off except fermatas.

Zuill
Windows 7, Finale 2011-v26.1
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."

User avatar
miker
Posts: 4411
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 4:28 pm
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Mac

Re: HP and fermatas

Post by miker » Thu Oct 10, 2019 11:26 pm

Zuill,
Customizing the HP still leaves the dropped notes problem.
Finale 26 | SmartScorePro X2
Mac OS 10.13 High Sierra
Copyist for Barbershop Harmony Society

User avatar
zuill
Posts: 2726
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:35 pm
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v26.1
Operating System: Windows

Re: HP and fermatas

Post by zuill » Thu Oct 10, 2019 11:38 pm

You might have to resort to using Audio Units.

Zuill
Windows 7, Finale 2011-v26.1
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."

Post Reply