Hairpins

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: miker, Peter Thomsen

FredLWilson
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2019 7:53 pm
Finale Version: 2014
Operating System: Windows

Hairpins

Post by FredLWilson » Thu Oct 10, 2019 7:59 pm

I have a relatively recent Finale version. I am relearning engraving with this software. One thing stumps me. In spite of following the help video precisely, I cannot CANNOT get hairpins to enter. Any clues?

Re: Hairpins

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

User avatar
michelp
Posts: 1547
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 3:35 pm
Finale Version: 25.5, 2014.5
Operating System: Mac

Re: Hairpins

Post by michelp » Thu Oct 10, 2019 8:37 pm

This should work :
Special Tools.
Select a hairpin in the palette.
Double click on the score (where the shape should start), hold the mouse button down and drag horizontally.
Release the mouse where the shape should end.
Michel
MacOsX 10.11.6, Finale 25.5, 2014.5, Mac Mini Intel Dual Core i7 3Ghz, 16 Go Ram. Azerty kb. Full TGTools. MOTU Midi Express XT USB, Roland Sound Canvas SC-88vl, MOTU Audio Express. 2 monitors (27' pivot, 24')

User avatar
motet
Posts: 3349
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:33 pm
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005
Operating System: Windows

Re: Hairpins

Post by motet » Thu Oct 10, 2019 9:06 pm

To amplify what michelp says, you need to double-click-drag to draw a hairpin. that is, double-click where you want it to start, and keep the mouse button down after the second click and drag to the end point. If this doesn't work, investigate the double-click speed in your computer's settings.

oldmkvi
Posts: 164
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 6:13 pm
Finale Version: 25
Operating System: Mac

Re: Hairpins

Post by oldmkvi » Thu Oct 10, 2019 10:33 pm

I have had the experience of trying up to 10 times to get hairpins to appear.
Double click and drag , over and over, regardless of mouse click speed setting.
Same with wired mouse.
I guess it's a bug on macs, I don't really know, but it can be annoying, that's for sure!

User avatar
miker
Posts: 4412
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 4:28 pm
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Mac

Re: Hairpins

Post by miker » Thu Oct 10, 2019 10:40 pm

It’s not a bug on Macs. I guarantee.

Try restarting your computer. If that doesn’t fix it, trash the prefs.
Finale 26 | SmartScorePro X2
Mac OS 10.13 High Sierra
Copyist for Barbershop Harmony Society

User avatar
apkyburz
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 9:50 am
Finale Version: 26 (+TG, Pattsn, JW)
Operating System: Mac

Re: Hairpins

Post by apkyburz » Sat Oct 12, 2019 4:01 am

miker wrote:
Thu Oct 10, 2019 10:40 pm
It’s not a bug on Macs. I guarantee.

Try restarting your computer. If that doesn’t fix it, trash the prefs.
+1. Definitely not a bug.

oldmkvi
Posts: 164
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 6:13 pm
Finale Version: 25
Operating System: Mac

Re: Hairpins

Post by oldmkvi » Sat Oct 12, 2019 4:06 am

I'll try restarting next time.

Post Reply