Avoiding Finalescript lockup

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: miker, Peter Thomsen

andyoc
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2016 3:00 pm
Finale Version: Finale25
Operating System: Windows

Avoiding Finalescript lockup

Post by andyoc » Sun Dec 01, 2019 2:40 pm

If I have a call to a menu item in FInalescript which is not available at that time, FS locks up.
Is there a way to suspend FInalescript without having to Exit and Re-enter Finale?

Re: Avoiding Finalescript lockup

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

User avatar
N Grossingink
Posts: 1241
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 2:50 pm
Finale Version: 2012, 25.3
Operating System: Mac

Re: Avoiding Finalescript lockup

Post by N Grossingink » Sun Dec 01, 2019 6:52 pm

Finalescript is a plugin, and as such is probably limited in many aspects of its operation. Either don't inadvertently trigger a bogus command or invest in a macro program like Autohotkey that runs beside, not within Finale.
N. Grossingink
Department of Public Works Music Engraving Inspector - Milwaukee, WI


Mac Mini 2014 2.6 Ghz, 8Gb RAM
OSX 10.12.6
Finale 2012c, 25.5, 26.2

User avatar
motet
Posts: 3487
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:33 pm
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005
Operating System: Windows

Re: Avoiding Finalescript lockup

Post by motet » Sun Dec 01, 2019 7:09 pm

Also be aware that if all you're doing is picking something from a menu, the TGTools Lite Menu Shortcuts is probably better for that.

There is a FinaleScript palette that has a Stop button. Maybe that would stop your script.

Post Reply