How to display distance between staffs

The place for beginner Finale users. ("How do I...")

Moderators: Peter Thomsen, miker

Post Reply
User avatar
Djard
Posts: 570
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 2:23 am
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Windows

How to display distance between staffs

Post by Djard » Tue Jun 16, 2020 11:12 pm

In one document, I managed to enable the Staff Tool so that clicking on a staff handle and holding down the mouse button displays the distance between staves (in inches). But I don't recall how I managed to do it. I think I have looked everywhere in the settings, except where the control is. Anybody know how to enable this feature?

Re: How to display distance between staffs

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

User avatar
miker
Posts: 4622
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 4:28 pm
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Mac

Re: How to display distance between staffs

Post by miker » Tue Jun 16, 2020 11:37 pm

Dragging a staff will display the distance. I don’t know if there is a way to keep it displayed. It would be convenient, though.

You might want to consider using a smaller measurement unit. EVPUs are great for fine tuning.
Finale 26.3 | SmartScorePro 64
Mac OS 10.15.7 Catalina
Copyist for Barbershop Harmony Society

User avatar
Djard
Posts: 570
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 2:23 am
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Windows

Re: How to display distance between staffs

Post by Djard » Wed Jun 17, 2020 6:14 pm

As far as I can tell, Finale displays the distance between staves only if they are grouped. The distance is shown not only while dragging a staff but also when clicking on a staff handle and holding down the mouse button. If the distance appeared also for non-grouped staffs, spacing sections in a score would be simplified. So methinks.

User avatar
zuill
Posts: 3571
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:35 pm
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v26.3.1
Operating System: Windows

Re: How to display distance between staffs

Post by zuill » Wed Jun 17, 2020 6:17 pm

Holding down the left mouse button shows the distance regardless of whether staves are grouped or not. That's the behavior in Windows. I can't say for Mac.

Zuill
Windows 10, Finale 2011-v26.3.1
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."

User avatar
David Ward
Posts: 603
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 4:48 pm
Finale Version: F 25.5 & 26.3
Operating System: Mac

Re: How to display distance between staffs

Post by David Ward » Wed Jun 17, 2020 6:22 pm

On my Macs, clicking and holding on the Staff handle with the trackpad shows the distance.
Finale 25.5 & 26.3
Mac 10.13.6 & 10.14.6

User avatar
Djard
Posts: 570
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 2:23 am
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Windows

Re: How to display distance between staffs

Post by Djard » Thu Jun 18, 2020 3:56 am

On my system, the distance between staves in a group appears in gray text between the staves, but not between ones that are non-grouped.

If I add an instrument in Score Manager, it is automatically grouped. Does the distance between staffs appear elsewhere?

User avatar
zuill
Posts: 3571
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:35 pm
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v26.3.1
Operating System: Windows

Re: How to display distance between staffs

Post by zuill » Thu Jun 18, 2020 4:03 am

You should probably report this to MakeMusic, as the proper behavior doesn't require grouping. They may have an answer for you.

Zuill
Windows 10, Finale 2011-v26.3.1
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."

User avatar
zuill
Posts: 3571
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:35 pm
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v26.3.1
Operating System: Windows

Re: How to display distance between staffs

Post by zuill » Thu Jun 18, 2020 4:33 am

How about posting a misbehaving file here for our examination?

Zuill

P.S.: Also, when Finale doesn't do what it should, back up your preferences and recreate them. That often cures things. Of course, before that, a reboot can do wonders.
Windows 10, Finale 2011-v26.3.1
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."

User avatar
Djard
Posts: 570
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 2:23 am
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Windows

Re: How to display distance between staffs

Post by Djard » Fri Jun 19, 2020 3:54 pm

Attached is an example of what I describe. On my computers, the distance between staffs appears only between those that are grouped. The matter may be related to how a document is set up: I usually use the Wizard but sometimes add instruments in Score Manager that seem to be automatically grouped. I'm hoping there is a setting that can be changed.

User avatar
zuill
Posts: 3571
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:35 pm
Finale Version: Finale 2011-v26.3.1
Operating System: Windows

Re: How to display distance between staffs

Post by zuill » Fri Jun 19, 2020 7:46 pm

I removed the group and still get the inches showing (.88). I am using v26.2, so maybe this is a v26.3 bug.

Zuill
Windows 10, Finale 2011-v26.3.1
"When all is said and done, more is said than done."

User avatar
Djard
Posts: 570
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 2:23 am
Finale Version: Finale 26
Operating System: Windows

Re: How to display distance between staffs

Post by Djard » Sat Jun 20, 2020 3:08 am

Thanks for the feedback. I will contact MakeMusic.

Post Reply