Measure Number Glitch?

General notation questions, including advanced notation, formatting, etc., go here.

Moderators: miker, Peter Thomsen

Rick_in_MN
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2020 4:59 pm
Finale Version: 25.5
Operating System: Mac

Measure Number Glitch?

Post by Rick_in_MN » Tue Jun 30, 2020 5:06 pm

Hi.....
I set up a template using the measure number regions dialog to show the number of the first bar of each stanza and to change the size of that number from 10pt to 12pt.

I used the option-click shortcut to show the number of a measure in the middle of the staff, but the font size appears at 10pt, even after I deleted the number and changed the font setting in document options.

Is this a bug or am I doing something wrong?

Re: Measure Number Glitch?

by Sponsor

Forum Sponsor
 

User avatar
motet
Posts: 4196
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:33 pm
Finale Version: 2014.5,2011,2005
Operating System: Windows

Re: Measure Number Glitch?

Post by motet » Tue Jun 30, 2020 5:26 pm

Looks like if you edit the measure number region, check "Show every 1 measures" and set the font size there, then uncheck it again, the Option-clicked numbers will then be that font size.

Not exactly intuitive!
Attachments
0556.png
0556.png (59.84 KiB) Viewed 64 times

Rick_in_MN
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2020 4:59 pm
Finale Version: 25.5
Operating System: Mac

Re: Measure Number Glitch?

Post by Rick_in_MN » Tue Jun 30, 2020 9:24 pm

Brilliant! Thanks, motet!

Now, if I can only figure out why the option-clicked measure numbers don't want to be deleted. (They just become greyed-out versions of themselves.)

User avatar
Peter Thomsen
Posts: 5419
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 6:47 pm
Finale Version: Finale v26.3.0.634
Operating System: Mac

Re: Measure Number Glitch?

Post by Peter Thomsen » Tue Jun 30, 2020 10:31 pm

Rick_in_MN wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 9:24 pm
… if I can only figure out why the option-clicked measure numbers don't want to be deleted. (They just become greyed-out versions of themselves.)
Something to try:

Measure Tool.
Select the measure with the “pesky” measure number.
Measure menu > Restore Measure Number Defaults
Mac OS X 10.14.6 (Mojave), Finale user since 1996

Post Reply